Those Secrets? There's more to them.

Meet the Company: Cassandra Rose

Cold Basement Dramatics was started in 2010 by 3 very ambitious people. We’d like to introduce you to those people starting with our associated artistic director Cassandra Rose. Here is everything you need to know about Cass

Name: Cassandra Rose
Age: 22

Hometown: Rockford, IL

What do you do?
I’m a playwright and dramaturg. What can I say? Stories make the world go ’round.

Favorite Play?
Equus by Peter Shaffer. It’s the perfect balance of mythology and psychology in a fluid world. Plus there are puppets.

What’s your favorite show you’ve ever seen or worked on?
Gatz by Elevator Repair Service, 2008 at the Museum of Contemporary Art. From a simple premise came a transcendental show: over the course of nine hours (including two intermissions and an hour for dinner) a simple office drone read the entirety of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby out loud. Never before had I seen how much strength performance and design could add to words.

First Theatrical Experience: My father teaches a continuing education dixieland/ragtime band at the community college back in Rockford on Monday nights. At the end of each semester the band performs three nights only. As most of the members are in their senior years, my dad tells a lot of jokes in between songs to help people catch their breaths before moving forward. When I was four I helped my dad tell this telephone joke up onstage in front of everybody.

  • MAN on phone: Ring Ring!
  • Little GIRL on phone: Hello?
  • MAN: Hello there, little girl. Can I speak to your father?
  • GIRL: No, he’s busy.
  • MAN: Can I speak to your mother then?
  • GIRL: No, she’s busy too.
  • MAN: Oh. Is there anybody else in the house with you?
  • GIRL: Yes. The policeman.
  • MAN: The policeman? Well, could I speak with him?
  • GIRL: No, he’s busy too.
  • MAN: Okay. Is there anybody else in the house with you?
  • GIRL: Yes. A fireman.
  • MAN: A fireman! Could I speak to him instead?
  • GIRL: No, they’re all busy.
  • MAN: Busy with what?
  • GIRL: Looking for me.

I was adorable. My hair was in french braids.

Favorite quote: I have the simplest taste. I am always satisfied with the best. -Oscar Wilde

What’s your secret?
I won a Harry Potter costume contest when I was 12. As Harry Potter.


Leave a Reply

