Those Secrets? There's more to them.

Meet the Company: Jack Bourgeois

Our next founder, Jack Bourgeois, is perhaps the reason Cold Basement has it’s name. Jack and his dad used to run lines in their basement – which was cold. Jack is the Artistic Director of Cold Basement Dramatics and is the reason our first show This Above All… was produced.

Name: Jack Bourgeois
Age: 21 this June
Hometown: St. Louis, Missouri

What do you do?
Actor/Director.

What is your favorite play?
The Glass Menagerie by Tennessee Williams – Williams flawlessly depicts the struggles of creating a new life to do what makes you truly happy while being haunted by the whips and scorns of nostalgia.

What’s your favorite show you’ve ever seen or worked on?

The Subject Was Roses, 2008. For years, my father told me that the summer I turn 18, he would direct me as the son in this post WWII kitchen sink drama. When the time came, I convinced him to play my father. It was the last thing I did in St. Louis before moving to Chicago and I will always remember it fondly.
First Theatrical Experience: My mother signed me up for a drama camp when I was nine years old. We mounted a production of “The Adventures of Lewis and Clark.” I dazzled audiences with my stirring portrayal of Soldier Number Two.
Favorite Quote: “This above all: to thine own self be true. And it must follow as the night the day, thou canst not then be false to any man.” – Polonius
What’s your secret?
If I told you, it wouldn’t be a secret.


Leave a Reply

